Don’t Be a Bitch… Darling

Besides being a very unfortunate thing to say to your darling, the above are words I’ve often said to myself lately.

The bitch’s habit is to tell myself every sluggish morning: “Get the fuck up.” But I try to change it and add at least some nice word at the end: “Get the fuck up… baby. I mean, get up, baby. That’s what I wanted to say. Baby.”

Cos I decided I’d be good to myself. It’s a long-term commitment that I’ve entered into some time ago to get healthier. And when I say healthier, I mean that on every level. So I decided not only to change my unhealthy thinking habits like criticizing myself e.g. for lying in, but also to adopt things like regular exercise and having dinner everyday.

And why am I (over-)sharing stuff like that with you?

Because I’ve seen too many people tormenting themselves with self-criticism (I’m not [insert adjective] enough, I’m such a bad person), and harming themselves through overwork (But I have to work!), substance abuse (C’mon, it’s just beer), or plain self-neglect (I’m fine, I don’t need a doctor). It’s actually scary how much harm people do to themselves.

And I know they’ll continue doing it regardless of what I may write here. Some people just won’t admit they’re harming themselves.

Still, I want to say that harming yourself won’t make things better. And, simple as it is, you’re the one who’s empowered to make them better.

So don’t be bad to yourself… darlings.

And take care.

Mulan

Published by

mulan92

I'm an unprofessional writer, reader and translator. I'm also a walking, breathing and listening addict. And I love being all that.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Be a Bitch… Darling”

  1. Funny, but my main resolution for this new year (and for a few years now I tend to have only one on which I’m trying to work for 365 days) is “DON’T BE TOO HARD FOR YOURSELF”. Every year I learn a lot about myself, and this last year, I’ve realized I wasted way too much time on criticising, explaining and excusing myself and generally feeling miserable, only because I failed at something. Time that I could use at trying again, or doing something else. So my main aim for this year is to learn how to forgive myself quicker. And, hopefully, by the end of this year I’ll be able to say that instead of wasting time for fruitless anger, I was doing something. Whatever that might be šŸ™‚

    I completely agree: we ought to be good to ourselves. And I hope that people who are still doing harm to themselves – consciously or not – will find enough strength within to fight this off this year. Because such a change really tends to make your life way better šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

