Sensitive World

I’m sitting here looking at the sensitive world around me, considering, as the considerate person that I try to be, the hurt feelings of a shitillion of people that I don’t know, and of those I do know, and of my own, and thinking about how sensitivity doesn’t always work.

Where I grew up, it was more or less okay to offend people because of their religion, how they look, or what sexual orientation they are. It was even kind of “cool” to do so. Made you a member of the more confident majority. A majority confident in their “right” to offend others.

I got angry. Hearing the derisive, and sometimes even aggressive comments directed at people they didn’t even know, I got angry even at my family and friends. Their attitude was like, “I’m gonna sling mud at those people because I can, and because everyone does it. Sure I don’t know them. So what?”

Then when I moved out and started studying at a university, I began to meet more sensitive and tolerant people who don’t get the pleasure from offending others. The result being simply, and wonderfully, that I hear less shit now.

I also feel somewhat freer myself here than I felt back there because no one makes an issue of why I don’t go to church, or why I don’t want to “look more feminine”. But most importantly, I am less angry.

Still, it sometimes happens that I do get angry, and one such instance was the reason for me to write this post in the first place.

Because in this sensitive world, where you should always talk safe in order not to offend anyone, it looks like there are people who apparently don’t exist in a full enough measure to be respected. They’re hidden where you can’t see them: in mental institutions, in their houses, behind the walls of their expressionless faces.

The mentally ill. People who, very often, have lost touch with reality, and can’t act the way you expect them to. Instead, they act crazy, so it’s easy to laugh. So easy.

And I get angry. When I hear someone make derisive comments about people who need psychiatric help; when I meet with all kinds of intimations that mental illness is something to be ashamed of; when I hear people say shitty (supposedly funny) things like “Oh I’m talking to myself again: it must be schizophrenia!”, I want to cry with anger.

Because I have needed psychiatric help once in my life; because I have relatives who are mentally ill; because I have seen schizophrenics lose touch with reality, and none of it has been fun. And I’ll take no derision, no shame, no ridicule, and no more shitty comments.

I’m writing this because a teacher that I otherwise adore has been making such comments continually during the course of this semester. She’s intelligent, funny, attractive, extremely language-conscious (which I actually find attractive, too), and I loved going to her classes, but every time she abused the mentally ill as an object of ridicule, I just wanted to get up and throw it in her face:

Who the fuck gave you a job at the university if you’re capable of being so stupid?

Yes, that’s right: I am being offensive now. Because it’s not like I never offend anyone and feel entitled to demand from everyone to follow my super-politically-and-otherwise-correct example. I have probably been offensive towards more people than I imagine in my life without even being always aware of it.

Anyhow, I’d like to make it clear to everyone who chances to read it: mental illness isn’t funny. It affects people all around this pretty, sensitive world, and it is the reason of a lot of suffering. It may affect people you work with, or who you meet socially; it may affect their families. And most of the time, you wouldn’t know because they wouldn’t tell you.

And I guess I don’t have to explain why they wouldn’t. It’s the laughter, the shitty comments, the suggestion that one should be ashamed. It’s the stigma.

So please. Don’t make it worse. Don’t treat mental illness like it’s laughable, and a reason to be ashamed. Just don’t.

With my best regards,

Mulan

P. s. If you like my blog but don’t have a WordPress account, you can now follow me via e-mail. Just click on that thing on the right, you know.

Published by

mulan92

I'm an unprofessional writer, reader and translator. I'm also a walking, breathing and listening addict. And I love being all that.

4 thoughts on “Sensitive World”

  1. Being sensitive is never easy, is it?
    Anyway, however much I understand your stand, I also can see that you take it very personally. I can understand your anger and I do agree that we shouldn’t make fun of mentally ill, but on the other hand I can’t shake off the thought that sometimes it is actually good to make fun even of something that serious… It’s just that it should be done carefully – people should be more aware of when it can be done and when it could not.
    I hope you don’t get me wrong: maybe it’s easy for me to say because I’m generally always for a laugh rather than a cry. However, I think I have a slightly different kind of laugh in my mind.
    Either way: I get why it gets you so angry and I do respect your opinion;)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I’m not sure what kind of laugh you have in mind but I’d say the kind where you laugh at a friend’s mental health problem (the way you would laugh, say, at the spots on their face, if they don’t mind) is okay – if they don’t mind. And it may be better than a cry, or a silence. But doing what my teacher’s been doing – ie. making fun of mental illness in public (for me, a class is a public enough situation) is unacceptable cos it adds up to the “image” of mental illness as smth both ridiculous and shameful.

      Like

  2. It is interesting that different forms of mockery have become unacceptable over the last decades, while others are still acceptable.
    When I was a kid, it was acceptable for teachers in class to make homophobic jokes, to call a girl a “dumb blonde,” and even to make certain racial slurs. Now, I would hope and assume, those things are way beyond acceptable, and might even result in someone being fired.
    Other prejudices are less recognized. I think that the rule for me is that whenever a certain class of people is mostly only mentioned as the punch line of a joke, that class of people is being maligned, and that people need to learn to identify it as hateful speech.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish everyone recognized that rule and stopped treating those classes of people that way. I also hope that the kind of prejudiced comments, and mockery, that you mention, are going to disappear from schools and other public institutions, cos now where I live it’s not always the case that people are treated equally and with respect.

      Like

Leave a Reply

