Uncomfortably Female

Today, I just want to share an eye-opening article that I chanced upon a couple of months ago: Body Terrorism Starts When We’re Young, from a website where lots and lots of interesting articles on self-acceptance, mental health, disability, and stuff like that sit, and which is called The Body Is Not an Apology.

Now don’t be put off by the radical-sounding title of it, or by the ugly picture above it. The content’s what counts.

And since I’ve mentioned the content, I’ll just add that I don’t agree with some of it: for example, the so-called high-power poses do not guarantee respect, or people’s attention to what you’re saying. At least, they don’t work this way for me: if a person sitting in a high-power pose talks rubbish, I’m more likely to dislike than respect them.

And on the other hand, when someone sounds sensible, and I can hear they’ve got extensive knowledge to share, I’ll pay attention no matter how they sit, or I may even fall in a sort of intellectual love with them, like I have with half of my teachers so far. [1] Generally speaking, when you’ve spent some time with a person, then the pose they sit in, be it high-, or no-power, means nothing.

…But otherwise, I felt happy to have this article confirm my general feelings about girls’ and women’s clothing, which I mostly find uncomfortable and impractical, and, by extension, ridiculously restrictive of the spectrum of movements and activities a person wearing them might have.

What this article doesn’t mention is the fact that most girls’ and women’s clothes are also worse-made if you compare them with boys’ and men’s clothes: the material is too thin, it wears out quickly, and it randomly exposes parts of the body that better be covered if you don’t want to be ill. [2]

Also, T-shirts designed for women all too often say that the owner is in love, wants to be in love, is made for love, or otherwise feels the need to be associated with this notion as if there’s nothing more to talk about, or have written on one’s T-shirt. By contrast, boys’ and men’s T-shirts’ designs allow for a broader range of messages, or interests, to be communicated to the world.

And if this post is beginning to sound like there’s some suppressed irritation behind it, it is because there’s some suppressed irritation behind it. In short, I hate the fact that what young girls get to wear by default is this nice, uncomfortable, troublesome girls’ clothing, which may, in the long run, teach them to view their bodies as… troublesome, uncomfortable, and never nice enough. [3]

I know that for many, the experience is not so negative. But for those who do relate to the difficult-to-bear discomfort of wearing girl’s and women’s stuff [4], here it is for your consideration.

Have a good day,
Mulan


[1] Mind you, not one of them ever sits in what they call “high-power” poses; they just sit, not really looking all that relaxed, sometimes they even stoop a little.

[2] For more ridiculous facts you may not have realized are true about girls’ and women’s clothing, go here.

[3] And maybe even tell me stuff like “if you want to attract a man, you should dress like, really nicely, so that you look like a little piece of art, or like, you know, like a… doll,” which I actually heard once from an otherwise intelligent girl friend.

[4] And especially for those who haven’t had the chance to wear brothers’ hand-me-downs, and to compare the experience.

Published by

mulan92

I'm an unprofessional writer, reader and translator. I'm also a walking, breathing and listening addict. And I love being all that.

3 thoughts on “Uncomfortably Female”

  1. Hi, it’s me again. I came here to comment on your another post.
    Haven’t read the linked article, though.
    As for your post, I especially liked the part in which you talk about women and girls being made for love, to love, etc. . Well, luckily nowadays you can put anything on your t-shirt 😀 What would yours say, Mullan?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

