Panting Emotions

Sometimes, an exhausted emotion will drag you to a place where you can take your time and experience it in solitude.

It’s been running after you for quite enough time, and now it’s caught you.

The place doesn’t have to be special. It could be an armchair where you usually sit, a mountain trail, or a public toilet, its walls covered with foul language.

I don’t recommend the last option. For my emotions, the best place to take me over has always been one riverside in my home village. It’s a nice place; nice because it isn’t “nice” enough for anybody to come over there…

I can’t be there right now, so I opened my notebook. Words are a place to go, too.

They say people live faster now than they used to in previous ages. And if you consider transport, information flow, or how people jump to conclusions on any topic, it’s true. But when we talk about emotions, the age doesn’t really matter: there’s always been the possibility to live too fast for you emotions to keep up.

What pace is too fast? I can’t give an answer to that. It varies from person to person, but you know it when it happens. When the pace feels all right, you don’t give it a thought. A thought usually comes when the pace feels extreme. Like a messenger from your emotion, it shouts after you to slow down.

It’s been the loudest thought in my mind, lately. For the past year or so, I’ve been living faster that I’d had before. For many reasons, it’s been the happiest time of my life. But annoyingly enough, I sometimes catch myself thinking: “How’s it possible to have experienced so much, and at the same time feel like you’ve hardly experienced it at all?”

…There’s my emotion, panting. Although exhausted, it was still able to capture me, hold me in place, and give me all those thoughts that made me type half a night away.

I think we shouldn’t underestimate emotions. The little fuckers may be stronger than you would’ve thought…

Don’t drive so fast, then, and let them keep up with you.

Take care,
Mulan

Published by

mulan92

I'm an unprofessional writer, reader and translator. I'm also a walking, breathing and listening addict. And I love being all that.

One thought on “Panting Emotions”

Leave a Reply

